Palm Springs International Film Festival Awards Gala 2023

Palm Springs International Film Festival Awards Gala: The Palm Springs Convention Center hosted the Film Awards Gala for the 34th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival on Thursday, January 5.

The festival welcomed the big names to the desert and helped to kick off the awards season by recognizing the most talked-about movies and performances from the previous year. Honorees received either a Chihuly glass sculpture or a statue of John Kennedy, “The Entertainer.”

Brendan Fraser got the Spotlight Award for The Whale, while Jamie Lee Curtis gave Cate Blanchett the Desert Palm Achievement Award for her role in Tár.

Palm Springs International Film Festival Awards Gala
Palm Springs International Film Festival Awards Gala

The Chairman’s Award went to Viola Davis for producing and acting in The Woman King, while Austin Butler earned the Breakthrough Performance Award from his Elvis director Baz Luhrmann.

Other honorees of the event included Michelle Yeoh (Director of the Year Award), Colin Farrell (Actor, Desert Palm Achievement Award), Bill Nighy (Actor, International Star Award), Danielle Deadwyler (Actor, Breakthrough Performance Award), and Colin Farrell (International Star Award, Actress).

The Fabelmans director Steven Spielberg, producer Kristie Macosko Krieger, and actors Michelle Williams, Paul Dano, Seth Rogen, Gabriel LaBelle, Judd Hirsch, Julia Butters, Sam Rechner, and Keeley Karsten received the festival’s Vanguard Award.

Other visitors included Nina Hoss, Todd Field, Gina Prince-Bythewood, Udo Kier, Thuso Mbedu, Phillip Keene, and Julius Tennon.

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *